Five winners of VICTOR DENMARK OPEN 2023 have been crowned: read all about the five finals


After six days of world class badminton and some of the sport’s biggest names and brightest stars, five winners have been named after five intense finals. 

WD: Nami Matsuyama/Chiharu Shida (5.) – Chen Qing Chen/ Jia Yi Fan (1.): 16-21, 13-21. 

Chen Qing Chen/Jia Yi Fan have once again won VICTOR DENMARK OPEN. 

The chinese pair was the favorite beforehand and hit the ground running in the final. The japanese pair Matsuyama/Shida fought bravely and showed glimpses of control, but the challenge of the four times world champions Chen/Jia proved to be too much of a challenge, and the chinese ended up winning comfortably in two games.

It is Chen/Jia’s second Denmark Open title after having won last year. They were in the final in 2019 where they lost to Baek Ha-na/Jung Kyung-eun from Korea. 

XD: Zheng Si Wei/Huang Ya Qiong (1.) – Feng Yan Zhe/Huang Dong Ping (3.): 21-16, 15-21, 26-24. 

Feng Yan Zhe/Huang Dong Ping have avenged their finals loss from last year and won VICTOR DENMARK OPEN 2023. 

The purely chinese final in the mixeddouble category was a matchup between two of the category’s best pairs and a repeat of the Denmark Open final of 2022. 

Last year Zheng/Huang came out victorious in a thrilling match in three games. This year the two chinese doubles delivered exciting badminton once again and it proved to be almost a complete reenactment of last year’s final, but with a different outcome as Feng/Huang won their first Denmark Open title

In a once again thrilling three game match with both pairs taking turn in offensive minded play and gaining and losing control. The crowd loved what they saw from the two pairs, and Feng/Huang received standing ovations as they celebrated their win.

WS: Carolina Marina (6.) – Chen Yu Fei (2.): 14-21, 19-21. 

Chen Yu Fei wins her first VICTOR DENMARK OPEN in her second final. 

The two latest Olympic gold winners faced each other in what was predicted to be one of the highlights of Sunday’s finals. 

The first game had Chen Yu Fei written all over it, and the chinese single player were on cruise control towards the title. Carolina Marin fought back in the second game, but Chen Yu Fei eliminated her mistakes, kept her head cool and took home the trophy. 

MD: Muhammad Shohibul Fikri/Bagas Maulana – Aaron Chia/Soh Wooi Yik (5.): 13-21, 17-21. 

Aaron Chia/Soh Wooi Yik have won their first VICTOR DENMARK OPEN title. 

In a matchup between last year’s indonesia All England-winners against last year’s world champions the latter was dominant throughout the match. 

Fikri/Maulana have been one of the tournaments most positive surprises, but in the final there was no doubt that Chia/Soh would win the match and take home the trophy. 

It is Chia/Soh’s first Denmark Open title. 

MS: Lee Zii Jia – Weng Hong Yang: 12-21, 6-21.

Weng Hong Yang delivers one of Sunday’s biggest upsets and beats Lee Zii Jia comfortably to take home the VICTOR DENMARK OPEN 2023 trophy.

The Malaysian start never got going, and the young Chinese player took advantage of every mistake from the Malaysian, and played some great offensive badminton. Two quick games, and the game was never in doubt. 

Weng Hong Yang wins his first Super 750 tournament in his first Denmark Open final. 




Massive Danish day upcoming at the VICTOR DENMARK OPEN

Big day upcoming for the Danish players and home crowd with seven Danish matches on the second day of VICTOR DENMARK OPEN.

This years VICTOR DENMARK OPEN couldn’t have started better for the Danish National Team.

Three wins in three matches were the conclusion on the first day of the tournament. Today it will be very difficult to continue that streak with seven Danish matches in a row starting from Wednesday afternoon until evening.

Click here to see the full schedule for Wednesday

Besides the Danish games the crowd in Jyske Bank Arena can look forward to seeing number one seed in four of the five categories on Wednesday. In Men’s Singles there will be a nail biter match between number five seed Jonatan Christie and Chou Tien Chen.

The first matches will start at 9.00 AM.

Read the official VICTOR DENMARK OPEN 2023 magazine

Hans-Kristian Vittinghus has stopped the national team training, but he is far from done with the sport of badminton. Read a portrait of him in our new magazine.

If you could choose any attribute from the world’s best player, what would you choose?

We have asked several of the Danish national team players about this in each of the five categories. You can read the answers in our VICTOR DENMARK OPEN 2o23 magazine, which was published digitally on Thursday.

Read the VICTOR DENMARK OPEN 2023 magazine here

One of the players who is not on the field at the VICTOR DENMARK OPEN 2023 is Hans-Kristian Vittinghus. He stopped playing for the national team in August, and we talked to him about the highs and lows of his career. Here he also reveals that it is not a farewell to the sport of badminton.

China strongly represented in the finals

Lee Zii Jia

The finals of the DENMARK OPEN presented by VICTOR includes to all China finals and one all Indonesian final.

This years DENMARK OPEN presented by VICTOR is coming to an end. Only five matches remain before the Danish Super 750 tournament is finished.

Especially China is strongly represented in the finals. Only the men’s doubles category doesn’t have any players with Chinese nationality.

This is the finals on Sunday:

  1. Zheng Siwei/Huang Yaqiong (3.) – Feng Yanzhe/Huang Dongping
  2. Chen Qingchen/Jia Yifan (1.) – Baek Ha-na/Lee So-hee
  3. Fajar Alfian/Muhammad Rian Ardianto (5.) – Marcus Gideon/Kevin Sukamuljo (2.)
  4. He Bingjiao (8.) – Chen Yufei (3.)
  5. Lee Zii Jia (4.) – Shi Yuqi


The finals begin Sunday at 12 PM.

All World Champions are ready for the quarter finals

Anders Antonsen - DENMARK OPEN presented by VICTOR

Last year’s winners in both men’s and women’s singles, Viktor Axelsen and Akane Yamaguchi, are on path to win their second title in a row in Odense.

All five reigning World Champions are still competing for this year’s DENMARK OPEN presented by VICTOR trophy.

That means the quarter finals at the Super 750 tournament will be with Viktor Axelsen, Akane Yamaguchi, Chen Qingchen/Jia Yifan, Aaron Chia/Soh Wooi Yik and Zheng Siwei/Huang Yaqiong.


Here are some the biggest matches you can look forward to on Friday:

  • Viktor Axelsen (1.) – Loh Kean Yew (7.)
  • Zheng Siwei/Huang Yaqiong (3.) – Thom Gicquel/Delphine Delrue (6.)
  • Lee Zii Jia (4.) – Jonatan Christie (8.)
  • Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty (7.) – Aaron Chia/Soh Wooi Yik (4.)
  • Tai Tzu Ying (2.) – Ratchanok Intanon (5.)
  • Chou Tien Chen (5.) – Shi Yuqi
  • Chen Yufei (3. seedet) – Pornpawee Chochuwong (7. seedet)
  • Yuki Fukushima/Sayaka Hirota (4.) – Jongkolphan Kititharakul/Rawinda Prajongjai (6.)


The quarter finals will begin Friday at 12 PM.